Back - List of Pavilions

Dominican Republic - Expo Zaragoza 2008

Dominican Republic at the Exhibition Expo Zaragoza 2008
© Philippe lemaire

The Dominican Republic is made up of five National Parks and a scientific reserve. The most important rivers of the island are born in the Dominican Republic: Yaque del Norte, Yaque del Sur and the Artibonito among others. Agricultural activities, electricity generation, industry and the consumption of 80% of the Dominican population depend on its waters. The fact that it is a steep area contributes to the richness of the species, almost all the amphibians and reptiles are endemic. Armando Bermudez National Park is located in a high zone of very low temperatures in which there is a very large grove of pine, ebony and mahogany trees. These waters are vital for the José del Carmen Ramîrez Park, which has the largest amount of water resources recorded in this area. The Dominican Republic, Cuba and Haiti have joined together in a common effort to conserve these places, promoting the creation of the Caribbean Biological Corridor, which will help reduce the loss of biological diversity in the region. In a linear space of 1600 kilometres, more than sixty protected areas of the three nations will be concentrated. In the Dominican Republic, the Mother of the Waters, the central cordillera will have its place.

© Exposicion International Zaragoza 2008