European Community - Expo Vancouver 1986

European Community at the Exhibition Expo Vancouver 1986
© Jerrye & Roy Klotz MD

"Europe on the move", the central theme of the European Community pavilion, illustrates the history of the Community and highlights its progress and many activities. The Community was born after the Second World War out of the desire of European countries to work for the common good in order to secure economic progress and lasting peace.

Originally composed of six members, the European Community now comprises twelve: Belgium, Denmark, France, West Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and the United Kingdom.

To illustrate the theme of "Europe on the move", the pavilion combines films, slides and mirror games. Model cars and aircraft displays also illustrate the considerable progress that has been made in the world of transport and communications.

©Official Guide - Expo'86